Diminished Scale

By | January 2, 2015

The Diminished Scale is an eight-note scale comprised of alternating whole steps and half steps. Technically it is called the octatonic scale although it is commonly referred to as the diminished scale. It is very popular in 20th century music and Jazz Music.

A B C D# E F#

Whole Step – Half Step – Whole Step – Half Step – Whole Step

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *