Diminished Scale

The Diminished Scale is an eight-note scale comprised of alternating whole steps and half steps. Technically it is called the octatonic scale although it is commonly referred to as the diminished scale. It is very popular in 20th century music and Jazz Music. A B C D# E F# Whole Step – Half Step –… Read More »

Chromatic Scale

The Chromatic Scale is an example of a nondiatonic scale which is a scale that doesn’t observe the interval sequence of the diatonic scales. The Chromatic Scale is a nondiatonic scale that consists entirely of half steps. Because of these the scale has no tonic. If you where to play every key or every fret… Read More »

Pentatonic Scale

The pentatonic scale is a five tone scale. Is is a gapped scale, one that contains intervals of more than a step between adjacent pitches. You can think of the pentatonic scale as a incomplete major scale. All the black keys on a piano is the equivalent to an Aflat minor pentatonic scale. The Pentatonic… Read More »

Melodic Minor Scale

The melodic minor scale is very interesting and has a raised sixth and seventh degree in the ascending form and a natural sixth and seventh (as in the natural minor) in the descending form. Ascending Whole Step – Half Step – Whole Step – Whole Step – Whole Step – Whole Step – Half Step… Read More »

Harmonic Minor Scales

The harmonic minor scale has a raised seventh degree. This creates a step and half between the sixth and seventh degree as well as a half step between the seventh and eighth steps. The accidentals or sharps do not appear in the key signature, as they would in the natural minor scale. Whole Step –… Read More »


A Triad is three tone chord it is the basic building blocks of all chords. There are four basic types of triads a major triad, minor triad, diminished triad, and augmented triad. A Major triad is constructed of a major 3rd and a perfect 5th. A Minor triad is constructed of a minor 3rd and… Read More »

Blues Scale

The blues scale is very similar to the pentatonic scale, the blues scale has an addition of the flat 5th or augmented 4th. It is also defined as a chromatic variant of the major scale with flat third and flat seventh. These notes are often called the “blue notes” and are used very heavily in… Read More »

Natural Minor Scale

The natural minor scale has seven unique pitches with whole steps separating adjacent tones except for half steps between the second and third degrees and between the fifth and sixth degrees. Whole Step – Half Step – Whole Step – Whole Step – Half Step – Whole Step – Whole Step The natural a minor… Read More »


Modes are an important concept when dealing with scales.  There are seven modes each has its own set of intervals.  Below are a list of the seven modes. -Ionian – 1st degree -Dorian – 2nd degree -Phrygian – 3rd degree -Lydian – 4th degree -Mixolydian – 5th degree -Aeolian – 6th degree -Locrian – 7th… Read More »

Major Scale

The major scale is a scale of seven different pitch classes with half steps between the third and fourth and the seventh and eight scale degrees and whole steps between all other scale degrees. C D E F G A B do re me fa sol la ti P1 M2 M3 P4 P5 M6 M7… Read More »